Cataract surgery fees 2026: package and bill statistics compared across 11 private hospitals and medical centres
At the 11 Hong Kong private hospitals and medical centres Book a Doctor reviewed, packages for cataract surgery on one eye that include the doctor's fee cost about HK$20,100 to HK$23,800; the hospital-charge-only price is HK$11,800 (doctor's fee extra); in the bill statistics published by 9 of the hospitals, the median total charge for day surgery is about HK$14,927 to HK$33,770.
How much does a cataract surgery package cost at each hospital?
The table below lists the packages for cataract surgery on one eye with a monofocal intraocular lens published by 7 private hospitals and medical centres in Hong Kong that this site reviewed; it does not cover every institution in Hong Kong. The ‘Doctor's fee’ column says whether the package includes the doctor's fee; for packages that charge only for the hospital, the doctor's fee is extra.
Compiled by this site: packages that include the doctor's fee cost about HK$20,100 to HK$23,800; the hospital-charge-only package, which excludes the doctor's fee, is HK$11,800; a package open only to public hospital patients is listed separately (Precious Blood Hospital (Caritas), HK$21,800); and one whose fee schedule does not say whether the doctor's fee is included is listed separately (Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital, HK$25,730). Room class, length of stay and restrictions differ between packages, so compare them using the ‘Scope’ column and the notes.
How this list was put together: an institution is listed when it publishes this fee on its own website and this site has checked the figures against that fee schedule. The rows are in a fixed order, not in order of price; this site does not recommend any institution, the order says nothing about quality, and the list is not every institution in Hong Kong.
| Hospital | Package price, one eye | Doctor's fee | Scope | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CUHK Medical Centre | HK$23,380 (day case, local anaesthesia) | Included | Hong Kong residents only, and day case or four-bed room only; doctors are graded according to the patient's condition and the fee may be higher | Astigmatism-correcting intraocular lens package HK$29,700 |
| Gleneagles Hospital Hong Kong | HK$11,800 (day case, local anaesthesia, normal risk); HK$15,340 (intermediate risk) | Not included (hospital charges only) | Standard room only | Monitored anaesthesia care or general anaesthesia (two days, one night) from HK$15,900 |
| Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital | HK$25,730 | Not stated in the fee schedule | Package service of the Ophthalmology Centre; only the fees at HKSH Healthcare in Admiralty are listed | Medicines not included |
| Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Tsuen Wan | HK$21,220 (day case) | Includes the surgeon's fee | Day admission; the ophthalmologist decides whether it applies | Does not include pre-operative consultation, special intraocular lenses, post-operative medicines or accommodation; valid until 31 December 2026 |
| HKBH East Kowloon Medical Centre | HK$23,800 | Includes the resident specialist's surgical fee and local anaesthesia | Outpatient package plan of the cataract surgery centre | Includes three post-operative follow-up visits; astigmatism-correcting or multifocal intraocular lenses cost extra |
| Union Hospital | HK$20,100 (day case) | Includes the specialist's surgical fee and local anaesthesia fee | Day surgery, for non-inpatients only | Includes pre-operative measurement of the intraocular lens power, one post-operative follow-up visit and the medicines needed after surgery |
| Precious Blood Hospital (Caritas) | HK$21,800 (local anaesthesia) | Includes the doctor's fee | Public hospital patients only (a public hospital appointment letter or follow-up slip must be shown); 6 hours in a day bed | The hospital's standard price is HK$26,400 |
Cataract surgery fees, hospital by hospital
CUHK Medical Centre cataract surgery fees: Package price, one eye: HK$23,380 (day case, local anaesthesia) (doctor's fee: included; Hong Kong residents only, and day case or four-bed room only; doctors are graded according to the patient's condition and the fee may be higher; astigmatism-correcting intraocular lens package HK$29,700; effective 1 November 2025).
Gleneagles Hospital Hong Kong cataract surgery fees: Package price, one eye: HK$11,800 (day case, local anaesthesia, normal risk), HK$15,340 (intermediate risk) (doctor's fee: not included (hospital charges only); standard room only; monitored anaesthesia care or general anaesthesia (two days, one night) from HK$15,900; effective 8 July 2025).
Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital cataract surgery fees: Package price, one eye: HK$25,730 (doctor's fee: not stated in the fee schedule; package service of the Ophthalmology Centre; only the fees at HKSH Healthcare in Admiralty are listed; medicines not included; effective 1 August 2026).
Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Tsuen Wan cataract surgery fees: Package price, one eye: HK$21,220 (day case) (doctor's fee: includes the surgeon's fee; day admission; the ophthalmologist decides whether it applies; does not include pre-operative consultation, special intraocular lenses, post-operative medicines or accommodation; valid until 31 December 2026).
HKBH East Kowloon Medical Centre cataract surgery fees: Package price, one eye: HK$23,800 (doctor's fee: includes the resident specialist's surgical fee and local anaesthesia; outpatient package plan of the cataract surgery centre; includes three post-operative follow-up visits; astigmatism-correcting or multifocal intraocular lenses cost extra; revised 10 August 2026).
Union Hospital cataract surgery fees: Package price, one eye: HK$20,100 (day case) (doctor's fee: includes the specialist's surgical fee and local anaesthesia fee; day surgery, for non-inpatients only; includes pre-operative measurement of the intraocular lens power, one post-operative follow-up visit and the medicines needed after surgery; effective 1 July 2025).
Precious Blood Hospital (Caritas) cataract surgery fees: Package price, one eye: HK$21,800 (local anaesthesia) (doctor's fee: includes the doctor's fee; public hospital patients only (a public hospital appointment letter or follow-up slip must be shown); 6 hours in a day bed; the hospital's standard price is HK$26,400; August 2023 version).
What do actual cataract surgery bills come to?
The table below shows the bill statistics published by 10 hospitals. Total charges include the doctor's fee and the hospital charge; unless otherwise stated, the statistics cover only standard-room or general-ward cases of a single procedure; Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital counts only cases without complications and does not say whether it counts only single-procedure cases. Union Hospital's figures are for January to June 2026; the other hospitals' are for the whole of 2025. Compiled by this site: among the 9 hospitals in the table, the median total charge for day surgery is about HK$14,927 to HK$33,770.
| Hospital | Day surgery, median | Day surgery, 90th percentile | Inpatient, median | Inpatient, 90th percentile | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CUHK Medical Centre | HK$33,770 | HK$43,700 | HK$53,233 | HK$77,879 | — |
| Gleneagles Hospital Hong Kong | HK$23,800 | HK$38,650 | HK$33,900 | HK$44,070 | — |
| Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital | HK$30,409 | HK$36,468 | HK$55,555 | HK$57,502 | One eye; day-surgery figures are for local anaesthesia and inpatient figures are for monitored anaesthesia care; the median for day surgery under monitored anaesthesia care is HK$46,740 |
| Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Tsuen Wan | HK$14,927 | HK$18,928 | HK$45,355 | HK$63,335 | — |
| St. Paul's Hospital | HK$30,250 | HK$36,500 | HK$107,493 | HK$208,201 | — |
| Hong Kong Baptist Hospital | HK$23,800 | HK$23,800 | HK$62,435 | HK$83,681 | — |
| Union Hospital | HK$21,050 | HK$26,000 | HK$56,660 | HK$95,040 | Fewer than 5 inpatient cases |
| Precious Blood Hospital (Caritas) | — | — | — | — | Day and inpatient cases not separated: median HK$16,476, 90th percentile HK$22,079.50 |
| St. Teresa's Hospital | HK$25,693 | HK$34,902 | HK$53,768 | HK$69,848 | — |
| Evangel Hospital | HK$23,000 | HK$45,600 | HK$102,944 | HK$119,523 | — |
How much does cataract surgery cost at a public hospital?
From 1 January 2026, Eligible Persons pay HK$300 per day for a Hospital Authority acute bed and HK$250 per attendance for day procedures and treatment at an ambulatory facility; ask the hospital how cataract surgery is charged at a public hospital.
What should I ask before booking?
Does the package include the doctor's fee and the anaesthetist's fee? If not, roughly how much is the doctor's fee?
Which doctors, room classes or referral routes does the package apply to? How is a stay longer than the package charged?
Is the price for one eye or both? Which intraocular lens is used? How much extra for an astigmatism-correcting or multifocal lens?
How much extra are pre-operative and post-operative consultations, laboratory tests and discharge medicines?
Can medical insurance pay the hospital directly? Is pre-approval needed?
For how to pay with medical insurance, see Seeing a private specialist with medical insurance; for room rates, see Private hospital room rates; fees for other operations and procedures: hernia repair, gallstone surgery (laparoscopic cholecystectomy), circumcision, haemorrhoid surgery, thyroidectomy, knee replacement, colposcopy, prostate enlargement surgery (transurethral resection of the prostate), kidney stone surgery, uterine fibroid surgery.
Frequently asked questions
Why do package prices and bill statistics for cataract surgery differ?
A package price is a charge set by the hospital that covers only the items specified, and some packages charge only for the hospital; bill statistics show the actual total charges of past cases published by the hospital, including the doctor's fee and the hospital charge, and are for reference only.
Does a cataract surgery package include the doctor's fee?
It depends on the hospital. The packages of CUHK Medical Centre, Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Tsuen Wan, HKBH East Kowloon Medical Centre, Union Hospital and Precious Blood Hospital (Caritas) in the table include the doctor's fee; the Gleneagles Hospital Hong Kong package or fee covers only the hospital part, with the doctor's fee extra; the Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital fee schedule does not say.
Are there cheaper options?
Some private hospitals have separate packages for public hospital patients; for example, Precious Blood Hospital (Caritas) offers a cataract surgery package of HK$21,800 for public hospital patients (local anaesthesia; the hospital's standard price is HK$26,400), for which a public hospital appointment letter or follow-up slip must be shown.