Private hospital childbirth fees 2026: delivery packages compared across 8 hospitals, doctors' fees and actual bills
At the 8 Hong Kong private hospitals Book a Doctor reviewed, hospital packages for vaginal delivery (lowest room class) cost about HK$22,000 to HK$26,800 and Caesarean delivery about HK$26,000 to HK$34,600 (the lowest, Union Hospital's, requires room charges and meals to be added), generally excluding doctors' fees; in the 2025 bill statistics published by some hospitals, the median total charge for vaginal delivery is about HK$54,286 to HK$102,387.
How much does a delivery package cost at each private hospital?
The table below lists the delivery packages (lowest room class) published by 8 private hospitals in Hong Kong that this site reviewed; it does not cover every hospital in Hong Kong. Most are hospital packages and generally do not include the fees of the obstetrician, paediatrician and anaesthetist.
Compiled by this site: vaginal delivery packages cost about HK$22,000 to HK$26,800 and Caesarean delivery packages about HK$26,000 to HK$34,600 (the lowest, Union Hospital's, requires room charges and meals to be added); the length of stay and room class differ between hospitals, as shown in brackets in the table.
How this list was put together: an institution is listed when it publishes this fee on its own website and this site has checked the figures against that fee schedule. The rows are in a fixed order, not in order of price; this site does not recommend any institution, the order says nothing about quality, and the list is not every institution in Hong Kong.
| Hospital | Vaginal delivery | Caesarean delivery | Doctor's fee | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CUHK Medical Centre | HK$23,900 (two-bed room, three days and two nights) | HK$32,800 (two-bed room, five days and four nights, booked caesarean section) | Not included | Epidural anaesthesia is charged separately at HK$7,500 (two-bed room) |
| Gleneagles Hospital Hong Kong | HK$23,900 (standard double room, three days and two nights) | HK$28,800 (standard room, four days and three nights, booked caesarean section) | Not included | Epidural anaesthesia is charged separately at HK$8,000 (standard room) |
| Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital | HK$26,800 (general room, three days and two nights) | HK$34,600 (general room, five days and four nights) | Not included | Obstetrics & Gynaecology Centre doctor's delivery fee HK$40,000 (general ward patients only) |
| Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Tsuen Wan | HK$22,800 (two-bed room, three days and two nights) | HK$29,000 (two-bed room, five days and four nights) | Not included | |
| St. Paul's Hospital | HK$22,000 (four-bed room, three days and two nights) | HK$26,800 (four-bed room, five days and four nights) | Not stated on the web page | Epidural (‘painless’) delivery is charged separately at HK$7,000 (standard room) |
| Hong Kong Baptist Hospital | HK$22,800 (two-bed room, three days and two nights) | HK$28,000 (two-bed room, four days and three nights) | Not stated in the fee schedule | Among the individual non-package charges, epidural anaesthesia is listed at HK$7,500 |
| Union Hospital | HK$22,500 (standard room, four days and three nights, room charges and meals extra) | HK$26,000 (standard room, five days and four nights, booked caesarean section, room charges and meals extra) | Not included | The package excludes room charges; the standard room is HK$780 |
| Matilda International Hospital | HK$23,800 (standard room, two nights) | HK$34,300 (standard room, four nights; Monday to Saturday 08:00 to 21:00) | Not included in the hospital package | There are also Total Care Packages that include the doctor's fee (designated doctors only): vaginal delivery HK$64,800, booked caesarean section HK$108,600 |
Delivery package fees, hospital by hospital
CUHK Medical Centre delivery package fees: Vaginal delivery: HK$23,900 (two-bed room, three days and two nights); Caesarean delivery: HK$32,800 (two-bed room, five days and four nights, booked caesarean section) (doctor's fee: not included; epidural anaesthesia is charged separately at HK$7,500 (two-bed room); effective 1 July 2026).
Gleneagles Hospital Hong Kong delivery package fees: Vaginal delivery: HK$23,900 (standard double room, three days and two nights); Caesarean delivery: HK$28,800 (standard room, four days and three nights, booked caesarean section) (doctor's fee: not included; epidural anaesthesia is charged separately at HK$8,000 (standard room); effective 1 June 2026).
Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital delivery package fees: Vaginal delivery: HK$26,800 (general room, three days and two nights); Caesarean delivery: HK$34,600 (general room, five days and four nights) (doctor's fee: not included; Obstetrics & Gynaecology Centre doctor's delivery fee HK$40,000 (general ward patients only); effective 1 February 2025, effective 1 August 2026).
Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Tsuen Wan delivery package fees: Vaginal delivery: HK$22,800 (two-bed room, three days and two nights); Caesarean delivery: HK$29,000 (two-bed room, five days and four nights) (doctor's fee: not included; valid until 31 December 2026).
St. Paul's Hospital delivery package fees: Vaginal delivery: HK$22,000 (four-bed room, three days and two nights); Caesarean delivery: HK$26,800 (four-bed room, five days and four nights) (doctor's fee: not stated on the web page; epidural (‘painless’) delivery is charged separately at HK$7,000 (standard room)).
Hong Kong Baptist Hospital delivery package fees: Vaginal delivery: HK$22,800 (two-bed room, three days and two nights); Caesarean delivery: HK$28,000 (two-bed room, four days and three nights) (doctor's fee: not stated in the fee schedule; among the individual non-package charges, epidural anaesthesia is listed at HK$7,500; updated 15 January 2026).
Union Hospital delivery package fees: Vaginal delivery: HK$22,500 (standard room, four days and three nights, room charges and meals extra); Caesarean delivery: HK$26,000 (standard room, five days and four nights, booked caesarean section, room charges and meals extra) (doctor's fee: not included; the package excludes room charges; the standard room is HK$780; effective 1 October 2026).
Matilda International Hospital delivery package fees: Vaginal delivery: HK$23,800 (standard room, two nights); Caesarean delivery: HK$34,300 (standard room, four nights, Monday to Saturday 08:00 to 21:00) (doctor's fee: not included in the hospital package; there are also Total Care Packages that include the doctor's fee (designated doctors only): vaginal delivery HK$64,800, booked caesarean section HK$108,600).
Including the doctor's fee, what does it actually come to?
Besides the hospital package, you also pay the obstetrician's delivery fee, ward-round fees and other doctors' fees. The table below shows the 2025 bill statistics published by the hospitals (standard room or general ward); total charges include the doctor's fee and the hospital charge; the other hospitals count only single-procedure cases, while Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital counts only cases without complications. Compiled by this site: the median total charge for vaginal delivery in the table is about HK$54,286 to HK$102,387.
| Hospital | Vaginal delivery, median | Vaginal delivery, 90th percentile | Caesarean delivery, median | Caesarean delivery, 90th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gleneagles Hospital Hong Kong | HK$97,230 | HK$115,653 | HK$98,682 | HK$108,718 |
| Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Tsuen Wan | HK$54,286 | HK$73,537 | HK$80,386 | HK$99,218 |
| Hong Kong Baptist Hospital | HK$89,451 | HK$112,852 | HK$99,927 | HK$129,960 |
| Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital | HK$102,387 | HK$113,615 | HK$110,409 (non-emergency, not at a specified time) | HK$140,863 |
How much does childbirth cost at a public hospital?
From 1 January 2026, Eligible Persons pay HK$300 per day for a Hospital Authority acute bed; ask the hospital how obstetric inpatient care is charged.
What should I ask before booking?
Does the package include the doctor's fee? Roughly how much are the obstetrician's delivery fee and ward-round fees?
How is a stay longer than the package charged? How much extra for a change to an emergency Caesarean or a Caesarean at a specified time?
How much extra is epidural (‘painless’) delivery?
How much is the deposit? How does medical insurance pay out?
For room rates, see Private hospital room rates; for ultrasound fees for antenatal checks, see Ultrasound fees; for obstetrics and gynaecology consultation fees, see Private obstetrics and gynaecology fees.
Frequently asked questions
Does a delivery package include the doctor's fee?
Most of the packages in the table are hospital packages that state that obstetrician, paediatrician and anaesthetist fees are not included; Matilda International Hospital also has Total Care Packages that include the doctor's fee, for designated doctors only.
Why do package prices and actual bills differ so much?
Bill statistics include the doctor's fee and the cost of the actual length of stay, whereas a package price covers only specified items on the hospital side.
Is epidural (‘painless’) delivery charged separately?
CUHK Medical Centre, Gleneagles Hospital Hong Kong and St. Paul's Hospital state that epidural anaesthesia is charged separately, for example HK$7,500 at CUHK Medical Centre (two-bed room); Hong Kong Baptist Hospital lists HK$7,500 only among its non-package charges and does not say whether the package includes it.
Find a doctor by district
Obstetrics & Gynaecology specialists in Hong Kong, by district →