Colonoscopy fees 2026: package prices at 11 private hospitals, actual bills and public fees
At the 11 Hong Kong private hospitals Book a Doctor checked, diagnostic colonoscopy package prices were about HK$10,070 to HK$19,880 (the highest being Matilda International Hospital's monitored anaesthesia Total Care Package), with different inclusions; according to the 2025 bill statistics published by 7 of these hospitals, the median total charge for a day-case colonoscopy was about HK$9,350 to HK$31,320.
How much are colonoscopy packages at each hospital?
The table lists the diagnostic colonoscopy fixed-price packages published by the 11 Hong Kong private hospitals this site checked (generally with intravenous sedation and without polypectomy), not all institutions in Hong Kong. What the packages include differs, so when comparing, look at whether the doctor's fee is included and what restrictions apply.
Compiled by this site: package prices in the table range from HK$10,070 to HK$19,880; most packages apply only to designated doctors, designated room classes or referral routes.
How this list was put together: an institution is listed when it publishes this fee on its own website and this site has checked the figures against that fee schedule. The rows are in a fixed order, not in order of price; this site does not recommend any institution, the order says nothing about quality, and the list is not every institution in Hong Kong.
| Hospital | Package price | Doctor's fee | Restrictions and notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| CUHK Medical Centre | HK$13,250 (day case) | Included | Only for Hong Kong residents and day cases or four-bed rooms; the doctor grades the case according to the patient's condition and the fee may be increased |
| Gleneagles Hospital Hong Kong | HK$13,400 (normal risk); HK$17,420 (intermediate risk) | Included | Standard room only; excluding polypectomy and biopsy |
| Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Stubbs Road | HK$12,760 | Includes the designated endoscopy doctor's fee | Only for referrals from the hospital's Health Assessment Center or public hospitals; diagnostic only, excluding polypectomy and pathology tests; only for day cases in the Short Stay Unit (standard ward) and during the Endoscopy Unit's regular opening hours |
| Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Tsuen Wan | HK$15,850 (three-bed room); HK$12,940 (low-charge bed, Hong Kong permanent residents only) | Includes the resident doctor's fee | Resident doctors only; excluding pre- and post-procedure consultations, pathology tests and discharge medicines; the package terms say accommodation is not included, which is inconsistent with the wording ‘applies to three-bed rooms’, so ask when booking |
| Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital | HK$12,490 | Includes the endoscopy specialist's fee | Endoscopy Centre outpatient scheme, doctor cannot be specified; specialist consultation fee of HK$620 charged separately (covers one pre-procedure consultation and one post-procedure follow-up) |
| St. Paul's Hospital | HK$12,570 | Includes the endoscopy doctor's fee | Limited-time offer; only for referrals from the doctors of the hospital's Health Centre and designated doctors; applies to self-payment only |
| Hong Kong Baptist Hospital | HK$11,700 | Not stated in the fee schedule | Intravenous sedation price (monitored anaesthesia care HK$13,790); the fee schedule does not state what is included or the room type |
| Canossa Hospital (Caritas) | HK$11,860 (outpatient) | Includes the endoscopy doctor's and anaesthetist's fees | Referred by the outpatient department, designated doctors of the hospital only; the doctor grades the case according to the patient's condition and the fee may be adjusted |
| Matilda International Hospital | HK$19,880 (monitored anaesthesia care, standard room) | Included | Designated doctors only; the hospital package that does not include doctor's fees is HK$9,800 |
| St. Teresa's Hospital | HK$10,070 | Included | For subsidised beds only; performed by resident specialist doctors |
| Evangel Hospital | HK$15,500 (day surgery, monitored anaesthesia care; includes three biopsy tests) | Includes the surgeon's fee and the monitored anaesthesia care fee | Includes six hours of stay, then HK$210 per hour; there is also an outpatient package of HK$4,100 that does not include the surgeon's and anaesthetist's fees |
Colonoscopy fees, hospital by hospital
CUHK Medical Centre colonoscopy fees: Package price: HK$13,250 (day case) (doctor's fee: included; only for Hong Kong residents and day cases or four-bed rooms; the doctor grades the case according to the patient's condition and the fee may be increased; effective 1 September 2026).
Gleneagles Hospital Hong Kong colonoscopy fees: Package price: HK$13,400 (normal risk), HK$17,420 (intermediate risk) (doctor's fee: included; standard room only; excluding polypectomy and biopsy; effective 17 July 2026).
Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Stubbs Road colonoscopy fees: Package price: HK$12,760 (doctor's fee: includes the designated endoscopy doctor's fee; only for referrals from the hospital's Health Assessment Center or public hospitals; diagnostic only, excluding polypectomy and pathology tests; only for day cases in the Short Stay Unit (standard ward) and during the Endoscopy Unit's regular opening hours; effective 20 March 2023, revised May 2025).
Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Tsuen Wan colonoscopy fees: Package price: HK$15,850 (three-bed room), HK$12,940 (low-charge bed, Hong Kong permanent residents only) (doctor's fee: includes the resident doctor's fee; resident doctors only; excluding pre- and post-procedure consultations, pathology tests and discharge medicines; the package terms say accommodation is not included, which is inconsistent with the wording ‘applies to three-bed rooms’, so ask when booking; valid until 31 December 2026).
Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital colonoscopy fees: Package price: HK$12,490 (doctor's fee: includes the endoscopy specialist's fee; Endoscopy Centre outpatient scheme, doctor cannot be specified; specialist consultation fee of HK$620 charged separately (covers one pre-procedure consultation and one post-procedure follow-up); effective 1 August 2026).
St. Paul's Hospital colonoscopy fees: Package price: HK$12,570 (doctor's fee: includes the endoscopy doctor's fee; limited-time offer; only for referrals from the doctors of the hospital's Health Centre and designated doctors; applies to self-payment only; effective 20 May 2026).
Hong Kong Baptist Hospital colonoscopy fees: Package price: HK$11,700 (doctor's fee: not stated in the fee schedule; intravenous sedation price (monitored anaesthesia care HK$13,790); the fee schedule does not state what is included or the room type; updated 1 October 2026).
Canossa Hospital (Caritas) colonoscopy fees: Package price: HK$11,860 (outpatient) (doctor's fee: includes the endoscopy doctor's and anaesthetist's fees; referred by the outpatient department, designated doctors of the hospital only; the doctor grades the case according to the patient's condition and the fee may be adjusted; effective 1 April 2026).
Matilda International Hospital colonoscopy fees: Package price: HK$19,880 (monitored anaesthesia care, standard room) (doctor's fee: included; designated doctors only; the hospital package that does not include doctor's fees is HK$9,800).
St. Teresa's Hospital colonoscopy fees: Package price: HK$10,070 (doctor's fee: included; for subsidised beds only; performed by resident specialist doctors; version of 1 July 2026).
Evangel Hospital colonoscopy fees: Package price: HK$15,500 (day surgery, monitored anaesthesia care, includes three biopsy tests) (doctor's fee: includes the surgeon's fee and the monitored anaesthesia care fee; includes six hours of stay, then HK$210 per hour; there is also an outpatient package of HK$4,100 that does not include the surgeon's and anaesthetist's fees; effective 2 January 2025).
About how much is the actual bill for a colonoscopy?
The table shows the 2025 bill statistics published by each hospital (day cases in standard rooms or general wards); the total charge includes the doctor's and hospital charges; other hospitals count only single-procedure cases, Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital counts only cases without complications, and it does not state whether only single-procedure cases are counted. Compiled by this site: the medians of the 7 hospitals in the table range from HK$9,350 to HK$31,320.
Evangel Hospital states that its endoscopy statistics include the charges for some additional treatments.
| Hospital | Median (50th percentile) | 90th percentile |
|---|---|---|
| CUHK Medical Centre | HK$19,250 | HK$23,180 |
| Gleneagles Hospital Hong Kong | HK$20,980 | HK$33,297 |
| Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Stubbs Road | HK$31,320 | HK$41,462 |
| Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Tsuen Wan | HK$9,350 | HK$16,109 |
| Hong Kong Baptist Hospital | HK$20,619 | HK$35,360 |
| Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital | HK$24,680 | HK$33,951 |
| Evangel Hospital | HK$16,244 | HK$20,756 |
What should I prepare before a colonoscopy?
Union Hospital's endoscopy centre states that the bowel must be cleaned before the examination by taking laxatives as prescribed by the doctor; only low-residue food may be eaten for two days before the examination, only liquid food (such as broth and thin congee) on the day before, and no food or drink from six hours before the examination.
Union Hospital states that the examination takes about thirty minutes to an hour, and that after it patients should not return to work, exercise vigorously or drive. Requirements differ between hospitals; follow the instructions of the hospital where you book.
How much is a colonoscopy at a public hospital?
From 1 January 2026, Eligible Persons receiving day procedures and treatment at a Hospital Authority ambulatory facility pay HK$250 per attendance; ask the hospital how endoscopy examinations are charged.
The Department of Health's Colorectal Cancer Screening Programme subsidises Hong Kong residents aged 50 to 75 without symptoms of colorectal cancer to be screened in the private sector every two years: a participating primary care doctor first arranges a faecal immunochemical test, and participants with a positive result are referred for a Government-subsidised colonoscopy.
What should I ask before booking?
Does the package include the doctor's fee and the anaesthetist's fee? Is it sedation or monitored anaesthesia care?
How much extra is it if a polyp is removed or tissue is taken for testing?
Which doctors, room classes or referral routes is the package limited to?
How much are the consultations and medicines before and after the procedure?
Can medical insurance pay the hospital directly? Is pre-approval needed?
For arrangements for paying with medical insurance, see using medical insurance to see a private specialist; for fees for other tests: gastroscopy, MRI, CT, ultrasound, PET-CT.
Frequently asked questions
Why are colonoscopy package prices different from actual bills?
A package price is a fee set by the hospital and covers only the stated items; bill statistics are the actual total charges for day cases in standard rooms or general wards at each hospital in 2025, including the doctor's and hospital charges, and some cases include polypectomy.
Does the package include the doctor's fee?
It depends on the hospital. Most packages in the table include the endoscopy doctor's fee; some hospitals' packages do not include the doctor's fee, or the fee schedule does not state it.
Is there a cheaper option?
Compiled by Book a Doctor: the lowest colonoscopy package in the ‘Package price’ column of the table is the subsidised-bed package at St. Teresa's Hospital (HK$10,070); Evangel Hospital also has an outpatient package that does not include the surgeon's and anaesthetist's fees (gastroscopy HK$3,100 / colonoscopy HK$4,100). Hong Kong residents aged 50 to 75 without symptoms of colorectal cancer can join the Department of Health's Colorectal Cancer Screening Programme.