Gastroscopy fees 2026: package prices compared across 11 private hospitals, actual bills and public fees
At the 11 Hong Kong private hospitals Book a Doctor reviewed, diagnostic gastroscopy packages cost about HK$8,340 to HK$17,300 (the highest being the monitored anaesthesia care Total Care Package at Matilda International Hospital), and what each includes differs; in the 2025 bill statistics published by 7 of the hospitals, the median total charge for day-case gastroscopy is about HK$13,925 to HK$27,765.
How much does a gastroscopy package cost at each hospital?
The table below lists the diagnostic gastroscopy packages (generally with an injected sedative and no polyp removal) published by 11 private hospitals in Hong Kong that this site reviewed; it does not cover every institution in Hong Kong. What a package includes differs, so when comparing, check whether it includes the doctor's fee and what restrictions apply.
Compiled by this site: package prices in the table range from HK$8,340 to HK$17,300; most packages apply only to designated doctors, designated room classes or referral routes.
How this list was put together: an institution is listed when it publishes this fee on its own website and this site has checked the figures against that fee schedule. The rows are in a fixed order, not in order of price; this site does not recommend any institution, the order says nothing about quality, and the list is not every institution in Hong Kong.
| Hospital | Package price | Doctor's fee | Restrictions and notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| CUHK Medical Centre | HK$10,550 (day case) | Included | Hong Kong residents only, and day case or four-bed room only; doctors are graded according to the patient's condition and the fee may be higher |
| Gleneagles Hospital Hong Kong | HK$11,200 (normal risk); HK$14,560 (intermediate risk) | Included | Standard room only; excludes polyp removal and biopsy |
| Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Stubbs Road | HK$9,680 | Includes the designated endoscopist's fee | Only for patients of the hospital's Health Assessment Centre or referred from public hospitals; diagnostic only, excludes polyp removal and pathology tests; only for short-stay ward (standard bed) day cases within the Endoscopy Centre's office hours |
| Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Tsuen Wan | HK$12,470 (three-bed room; includes a rapid Helicobacter pylori test); HK$10,280 (low-charge bed, Hong Kong permanent residents only) | Includes the resident doctor's fee | Resident doctors only; excludes pre-operative and post-operative consultations, pathology tests and discharge medicines; the package terms state that accommodation is not included, which is inconsistent with the wording ‘applicable to a three-bed room’, so ask when booking |
| Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital | HK$8,340 | Includes the endoscopy specialist's fee | Endoscopy Centre outpatient plan, doctor cannot be chosen; the specialist's consultation fee of HK$620 is charged separately (includes one pre-operative consultation and one post-operative follow-up) |
| St. Paul's Hospital | HK$12,460 (includes biopsy) | Includes the endoscopist's fee | Limited-time offer; only for patients referred by doctors of the hospital's health check centre and designated doctors, and only for self-paying patients |
| Hong Kong Baptist Hospital | HK$9,320 | Not stated in the fee schedule | Intravenous sedation price (monitored anaesthesia care HK$10,920); the fee schedule does not state the items included or the room type |
| Canossa Hospital (Caritas) | HK$10,270 (outpatient) | Includes the endoscopist's and anaesthetist's fees | Referred from the outpatient department, designated doctors of the hospital only; doctors are graded according to the patient's condition and the fee may be adjusted |
| Matilda International Hospital | HK$17,300 (monitored anaesthesia care, standard room) | Included | Designated doctors only; the hospital package that excludes the doctor's fee is HK$9,300 |
| St. Teresa's Hospital | HK$8,380 | Included | Subsidised beds only; performed by a resident specialist |
| Evangel Hospital | HK$13,000 (day surgery, monitored anaesthesia care; includes three biopsy tests and a Helicobacter pylori test) | Includes the doctor's surgical fee and monitored anaesthesia care fee | Includes six hours' stay, then HK$210 per hour; there is also an outpatient package of HK$3,100 that excludes the doctor's surgical fee and the anaesthetist's fee |
Gastroscopy fees, hospital by hospital
CUHK Medical Centre gastroscopy fees: Package price: HK$10,550 (day case) (doctor's fee: included; Hong Kong residents only, and day case or four-bed room only; doctors are graded according to the patient's condition and the fee may be higher; effective 1 September 2026).
Gleneagles Hospital Hong Kong gastroscopy fees: Package price: HK$11,200 (normal risk), HK$14,560 (intermediate risk) (doctor's fee: included; standard room only; excludes polyp removal and biopsy; effective 17 July 2026).
Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Stubbs Road gastroscopy fees: Package price: HK$9,680 (doctor's fee: includes the designated endoscopist's fee; only for patients of the hospital's Health Assessment Centre or referred from public hospitals; diagnostic only, excludes polyp removal and pathology tests; only for short-stay ward (standard bed) day cases within the Endoscopy Centre's office hours; effective 20 March 2023, revised May 2025).
Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Tsuen Wan gastroscopy fees: Package price: HK$12,470 (three-bed room, includes a rapid Helicobacter pylori test), HK$10,280 (low-charge bed, Hong Kong permanent residents only) (doctor's fee: includes the resident doctor's fee; resident doctors only; excludes pre-operative and post-operative consultations, pathology tests and discharge medicines; the package terms state that accommodation is not included, which is inconsistent with the wording ‘applicable to a three-bed room’, so ask when booking; valid until 31 December 2026).
Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital gastroscopy fees: Package price: HK$8,340 (doctor's fee: includes the endoscopy specialist's fee; Endoscopy Centre outpatient plan, doctor cannot be chosen; the specialist's consultation fee of HK$620 is charged separately (includes one pre-operative consultation and one post-operative follow-up); effective 1 August 2026).
St. Paul's Hospital gastroscopy fees: Package price: HK$12,460 (includes biopsy) (doctor's fee: includes the endoscopist's fee; limited-time offer; only for patients referred by doctors of the hospital's health check centre and designated doctors, and only for self-paying patients; effective 20 May 2026).
Hong Kong Baptist Hospital gastroscopy fees: Package price: HK$9,320 (doctor's fee: not stated in the fee schedule; intravenous sedation price (monitored anaesthesia care HK$10,920); the fee schedule does not state the items included or the room type; updated 1 October 2026).
Canossa Hospital (Caritas) gastroscopy fees: Package price: HK$10,270 (outpatient) (doctor's fee: includes the endoscopist's and anaesthetist's fees; referred from the outpatient department, designated doctors of the hospital only; doctors are graded according to the patient's condition and the fee may be adjusted; effective 1 April 2026).
Matilda International Hospital gastroscopy fees: Package price: HK$17,300 (monitored anaesthesia care, standard room) (doctor's fee: included; designated doctors only; the hospital package that excludes the doctor's fee is HK$9,300).
St. Teresa's Hospital gastroscopy fees: Package price: HK$8,380 (doctor's fee: included; subsidised beds only; performed by a resident specialist; version of 1 July 2026).
Evangel Hospital gastroscopy fees: Package price: HK$13,000 (day surgery, monitored anaesthesia care, includes three biopsy tests and a Helicobacter pylori test) (doctor's fee: includes the doctor's surgical fee and monitored anaesthesia care fee; includes six hours' stay, then HK$210 per hour; there is also an outpatient package of HK$3,100 that excludes the doctor's surgical fee and the anaesthetist's fee; effective 2 January 2025).
What do actual gastroscopy bills come to?
The table below shows the 2025 bill statistics published by the hospitals (day cases in standard rooms or general wards). Total charges include the doctor's fee and the hospital charge; the other hospitals count only single-procedure cases, while Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital counts only cases without complications and does not say whether it counts only single-procedure cases. Compiled by this site: the medians of the 7 hospitals in the table range from HK$13,925 to HK$27,765.
Evangel Hospital states that its endoscopy statistics include the charges for some additional treatments.
| Hospital | Median (50th percentile) | 90th percentile |
|---|---|---|
| CUHK Medical Centre | HK$16,156 | HK$27,130 |
| Gleneagles Hospital Hong Kong | HK$19,484 | HK$29,397 |
| Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Stubbs Road | HK$27,765 | HK$42,871 |
| Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Tsuen Wan | HK$15,104 | HK$23,694 |
| Hong Kong Baptist Hospital | HK$18,921 | HK$39,918 |
| Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital | HK$19,433 | HK$27,298 |
| Evangel Hospital | HK$13,925 | HK$17,986 |
What do I need to prepare before a gastroscopy?
CUHK Medical Centre states that patients must fast for six hours before a gastroscopy; St. Paul's Hospital's information sheet (2016 version) asks patients to start fasting eight hours before the examination.
CUHK Medical Centre states that patients who have diabetes or high blood pressure, or are pregnant, must tell the medical staff and take their medicines as instructed; patients must not drive to the hospital and should be accompanied by family or friends when arriving and leaving, and must not operate heavy machinery, drive or sign important documents for twenty-four hours. Requirements differ between hospitals, so follow the instructions of the hospital where you book.
How much does a gastroscopy cost at a public hospital?
From 1 January 2026, Eligible Persons pay HK$250 per attendance for day procedures and treatment at a Hospital Authority ambulatory facility; ask the hospital how endoscopy is charged.
What should I ask before booking?
Does the package include the doctor's fee and the anaesthetist's fee? Is it sedation or monitored anaesthesia care?
If a polyp needs to be removed or tissue taken for laboratory testing, how much extra is it?
Which doctors, room classes or referral routes does the package apply to?
How much extra are pre-operative and post-operative consultations and medicines?
Can medical insurance pay the hospital directly? Is pre-approval needed?
For how to pay with medical insurance, see Seeing a private specialist with medical insurance; fees for other tests: colonoscopy, MRI, CT, ultrasound, PET-CT.
Frequently asked questions
Why do gastroscopy package prices differ from actual bills?
A package price is a charge set by the hospital that covers only the items specified; the bill statistics show the actual total charges of day cases in standard rooms or general wards in 2025, including the doctor's fee and the hospital charge, and some cases include polyp removal.
Does a gastroscopy package include the doctor's fee?
It depends on the hospital. Most packages in the table include the endoscopist's fee; some hospitals' packages exclude the doctor's fee, or the fee schedule does not say.
Are there cheaper options?
Compiled by Book a Doctor: the two lowest gastroscopy packages in the ‘Package price’ column of the table are the Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital Endoscopy Centre outpatient plan (HK$8,340, doctor cannot be chosen) and the St. Teresa's Hospital subsidised-bed package (HK$8,380); Evangel Hospital also has an outpatient package that excludes the doctor's surgical fee and the anaesthetist's fee (gastroscopy HK$3,100 / colonoscopy HK$4,100).